Login

South Florida Chapter Committees 2017-2018

We're a busy group and  we couldn't do it without the hard work of the following people.  If you are interested in getting more involved, please reach out to any board member or committee chair and we'll gladly put you to work!


AWARDS

This committee is in charge of coordinating all chapter award submissions.  The Director is the chair of this committee and can use 1 or 2 volunteers who are good at writing or editing.

Marie Colon
Littler Mendelson
mcolon@littler.com


BUSINESS PARTNER RELATIONS

The Business Partner Relations Committee is the liaison between our chapter business partners and our members.  This committee is in need of 1 or 2 volunteers to assist with various tasks/projects.  Average time commitment is 1-2 hours per month.


Trisha Spiller
Greenspoon Marder
954-333-4366 or trisha.spiller@gmlaw.com

Michelle Casares

Lichter Law Firm
305-356-7542  or MCasares@lichterlawfirm.com

Sandra Borriello
Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr
954-713-7643 or Sandra.Borriello@saul.com

 

CERTIFIED LEGAL MANAGER (CLM)

ALA's Certified Legal Manager (CLM)SM program provides the opportunity to demonstrate you have mastered the knowledge, skills, and abilities to operate at a high level of expertise in the field of legal management.  For more information, including assistance in forming or finding a study group, contact the CLM's committee chair.

Lisa Dasher, CLM
Wicker Smith O'Hara McCoy & Ford P.A.
305-448-3939 or Ldasher@wickersmith.com

 

COMMUNITY SERVICE/CHARITY

Community service is an important goal of the South Florida Chapter. The ALA encourages community service by its chapters through an annual "Community Challenge Weekend" when members are challenged to spend time giving back to their community. This committee needs at least 5 volunteers to assist with planning and coordinating events.  Average time commitment is 1-2 hours per month.

Blanca Aguilera
Rumberger Kirk & Caldwell
305-995-5480  or Baguilera@rumberger.com

Tracy Hess
Fisher Phillips
954-847-4706  or THess@Fisherphillips.com

 

DIVERSITY & INCLUSION
The Committee on Diversity and Inclusion will work closely with the Executive Board to carry out these and other initiatives to help strengthen diversity and inclusion throughout the chapter. Of course, each and every one of us must accept responsibility for and do our part to fulfill our chapter’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. At present this committee is fully staffed.
       

Paula Lawson, CLM
Genovese, Joblove & Battista
305-349-2320 or Plawson@gjb-law.com

 

LEGAL COMMUNITY RELATIONS
The purpose of this committee is to raise awareness of our association and the profession of legal management.  This committee plans and attends events on such as the annual Florida bar meeting.  3- 5 volunteers are needed to help plan and attend events. Average time commitment is 1-2 hours per month, more if you volunteer to staff an event. 


Victoria Allen, CLM
Rogers, Morris & Ziegler, LLP
954-400-4103 or Victoria@rmzlaw.com

 

NEWSLETTER

The Network is the newsletter published by the Chapter to provide information for the education and benefit of legal administrators, law office managers, managing partners of law firms, and others interested in law firm management. The members of the committee are responsible for procuring articles, photographs, and advertising for the newsletter and for production and distribution. This committee could use 1 or 2 additional members.  Average time commitment is 1-2 hours per month.

Lilly Torres
DLA Piper LLP
305-423-8536  or lilly.torres@dlapiper.com


PROGRAMS

The Programs committee sets the education calendar for the chapter and  organizes the monthly chapter meetings . If you are a member with a suggestion for a topic for one of our meetings or if you are a speaker interested in offering your services, please contact:

Millie Matias

Greenberg Traurig
matiasm@gtlaw.com 

 

MARKETING

This committee is in charge of sending notices of events to all chapter members, business partners and local media. This committee also keeps us all digitally connected by updating the chapters Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter and Instagram accounts.  This committee could use 1-2 members to assist with posting content.

    

Emelyn Bruguera
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
305-415-3385 or emelyn.bruguera@morganlewis.com

Lourdes Sanders
Broad and Cassel
305-373-9400 or Lsanders@broadandcassel.com

REGIONAL COUNCIL

This committee attends the regional council meetings held at annual conference and reports back to the board on initiatives and directives from the national organization.  It is primarily comprised of board members but if you are planning on attending a conference and are interested in learning more about how the ALA works at both the local and national level, please contact one of the committee members.

Marie Colon
Littler Mendelson
mcolon@littler.com

Judith Pawloski, CLM
Peterson Bernard
954-763-3200 or JPawloski@ftl-law.com


SCHOLARSHIPS

The South Florida Chapter Association of Legal Administrators has supported its scholarship program targeting graduating high school students and college students for the past 28 years. This program is funded by contributions from various law firms in our local ALA chapter.

Qualifying students are awarded up to $1,000 per school year. Recipients are eligible to receive continued aid for up to a four-year period. To qualify, students must (i) have at least a 3.0 grade point average, (ii) demonstrate financial need for the scholarship, and (iii) use the award for the payment of tuition and/or books.

Judith Pawloski, CLM
Peterson Bernard
954-763-3200 or JPawloski@ftl-law.com

SOCIAL COMMITTEE

The social committee is charged with bringing the fun to our group.  They plan different events throughout the year that allow our members and business partners the opportunity to meet and mingle in a fun environment.  This committee could use 3-5 additional members.  Average time commitment is 1-2 hours per month.
       
Gary Smith
Richard and Richard 
gary@richardandrichard.com

WEBSITE

This committee is responsible for keeping the website current and user friendly.  Please direct questions, concerns, complaints or compliments to:

Kristine Blanco
Gordon & Rees Scully Mansukhani
kblanco@gordonrees.com


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software